Acneboy
2001-07-10 9:42 a.m.
day of infamy
July 11th, 1983, a day that is remembered as a day of greatness and ultimate smurfiness. oh and it's a day that will live in infamy, whatever that means. It was the day that eddie murphy and richard pryor graced the cover of america's most respected news publication, second only to Teen People: People magazine. Well move over July 11th 1983, there's a new july 11th in town and it's name is July 11th, 2001. The day that ``Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within'' opens in theatres nation wide.

Raevyn and I, along with the small segment of Hilo city's populace that isn't busy getting pregnant or writing songs about their favorite foods, will catch one of the first showings if possible. Too bad there isn't a THX certified theatre on this island.

I watched ``Billy Elliot'' on DVD with raevyn last night. It reminded me of when i was 10 and used to think gay people were evil. it also reminded me of when i was 10 and that shocked/dismayed look my dad had on his face when he caught me applying blush to my cheeks. The movie is about ballet though. It's good.

--

update (1:11pm)

Well, as it turns out July 11th is the limited release date for Final Fantasy, and since Hilo isn't a real city I won't be seeing it until a print is shipped over on friday. At this point im going to praise digital projection for allowing studios to transfer movies directly to theatres over a network however optimistic that may seem.