Acneboy
2001-07-26 2:03 p.m.
audio lab tests
I'm staying at raevyn's house so she has to sneak me in late at night after her grandmother goes to sleep. This means we have to stay out late and invent things to do. We spent an hour or so trying to invent a new form of entertainment i call "going-to-Borders-but-not-buying-anything" The invention was a complete failure and we left Borders with a couple of new books and a list of books to buy the next time we go there. Walmart is the only thing in Hilo open past 10 so it was off to consumer ville we went.

They have a setup in their electronics department that allows you to demo a panasonic or philips 5.1 surround sound system whose source material is a DVD copy of The Matrix. They are both modestly priced systems which means that if i didn't spend all my money on Ding Dongs� and DVDs I might actually afford one. The setup is new so the mullet wearing customers havn't had time to break it yet.

In a completely unprecidented move, the geniuses that compose Walmart's staff arranged each system with all six speakers facing the listener. Brilliant! Now instead of subjecting my brain to the grueling task of detecting sound directionality I can know immediatly that all sound will be coming from directly in front of me. Thankfully the right and left speakers are placed only an inch apart from eachother so I didn't have stereo sound shoved down my throat either.

I was able to determine that both systems were sufficiently loud since I could hear them over all the boom boxes playing mariah carey's latest crap that some idiot had set at maximum volume.

Me want circuit city!