Acneboy
2001-09-10 10:30 a.m.
Jinkies!
Ahoy! Raevyn and I saw "Jeepers Creepers" this weekend. I'd give it an enthusiastic C+. It delivers quite a few scares but fails to elaborate on the one thing i found interesting about this movie: the antagonist. Sure, we get to see that he lives in a cellar decorated with petrified human bodies, but we never get to find out why. Is the creature a supernatural being (i.e.: a demon or ghost)? I'm guessing no since he drives a souped up truck with vanity plates and new tires. Why does he only get to feed every 23 years? That sounds like a limitation imposed on a supernatural being to me.

It's a shame how little we get know about why this creature does what he does, or even why he exists. The movie instead focuses on the main (less interesting) characters as they mostly drive fast and deal with small town police forces. Then there's the introduction of a psychic character that doesn't do one thing for the plot, aside from slow it down. She doesn't alter the outcome that she has herself predetermined, though i guess a case could be made that she helps to realize the outcome. Either way, the film would have played out the same way with or without her character.

This movie is OK, but could have been better if it were brave enough to spend more time with the villian.

And as for the ending, I'm not sure how this movie survived in this form after test screenings...

Retribution: I don't know what it is about me (probably everything) but kids seem to lock on to me and know they can push me around, just by looking at me. Little, bastard children! Anyway, it really pisses me off and i never do anything about it. Yesterday Raevyn and I got home from Costco and some kids (ages 7-9?) accross the street started making fun of me for buying such a big bag of potatoes, which i admit, is actually quite funny! Unless you were a POW in a japanese prison camp... But it really pissed me off. Then I went in my house, came back out and noticed one of the kids was doing something to my car, so i totally blew my top, ran over to them and chewed them out (and used Old Man Murray style humor against them). man it was sweet! they were so damn scared. It turned out one of them scratched my car up with a rock (WTF!?) so her dad is going to buff out the scratches and pay for damage if necessary. Goddamit how did little kids get like this? and why do they all live on my street?

Cracker Jacked: My 99cent bag of cracker jacks contained only 3 peanuts. I am so going to write a letter. Man I remember when they came with a toy (pink magnifying glasses anyone?). now they come with gay ass stickers. I want my gay ass magnifying glasses!