Acneboy
2002-03-04 3:08 p.m.
important
If you liked our car insurance policies then you'll simply love our plastic gecko statues!


I got a letter from GEICO today and on the envelope it said IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR GEICO POLICYHOLDERS. I thought this was odd since usually their important notices come in bright pink envelopes and contain letters that say they're going to cancel my policy if I don't stop not paying my premium. I opened the envelope to reveal a lengthy set of ads for a vacuum cleaner. The next time I get an "IMPORTANT" letter from GEICO it better a) Be important, and b) say something along the lines of, "Dude!! Someone just stole your car!". I guess making money off of people required by law to give you hundreds of dollars a year for a service they may never need is simply not lucrative enough.

This is of course from the same people that think I split my sides with laughter everytime i see a TV ad about a gecko lamenting the fact that his name vaguely resembles the word geico. The only positive thing resulting from this misleading use of the word "important" is that next time I tell them I threw away my insurance bill because I thought it was an ad for a vacuum cleaner it will be true.