Acneboy
2004-02-10 9:48 a.m.
Hero of the world lazy. Doesn't even bother making stuff up.

Lucasfilm finally announced a Star Wars original trilogy DVD set. Star Wars, The Empire Strikes Back, and Return of the Jedi will all be coming in September to a DVD player near you, or if you don't own a DVD player then how come you own a computer in the Stone Age, caveman? The films will be the special edition versions released in the 90s, not the original versions. For nerds, the news is bittersweet; like if a woman who had been trying for years to conceive a child were told by her doctor "congratulations, you're finally pregnant... WITH SATAN'S BABY!" Actually, George Lucas has been saying all along that the original versions will never be released on home video again, so it's more like a woman having sex with Satan, then being told by her doctor "not at all surprisingly, you're pregnant with Satan's baby." Either way, I'm still looking forward to the DVDs because it's Star Wars!

Enough about sci-fi crap. Let's talk about this movie I saw called The Believer. It's about this self-hating Jewish boy who becomes a skinhead and beats up other Jewish boys, and perhaps rediscovers his faith somewhere along the line. The main character is played by Ryan Gosling, who's a great young actor who used to play young Hercules in my favorite TV show when I was unemployed in 1998 (Young Hercules). For my full review of The Believer visit http://www.suntimes.com/ebert, then click on the 'Search' button. Please ignore the parts where I talk about my african-american wife and the byline where my name appears as "Roger Ebert." Those were just some things I did so that people would think I was Roger Ebert.