Acneboy
2004-03-29 12:53 p.m.
By Lisa Schwarzbaum (super correct spelling)

I really want to see Lost in La Mancha. It's a documentary about Terry Gilliam's failed attempt to make a film called The Man Who Killed Don Quixote. Amusingly, the documentary began as a supplemental feature for the eventual Man Who Killed Don Quixote DVD, but since the movie never materialized, it turned in to its own thing. I found a used copy for $10 at a local store, but I have a rule against buying DVDs for movies I haven't seen*. Another consideration: what if the DVD was stolen along with the rest of some film buff's collection? I guess it's just as likely that someone bought it sight unseen because it had Johnny Depp's face on the cover (the ill-fated movie starred Johnny Depp!), and then returned it when they figured out it wasn't Pirates of the Caribbean.

How do you pronounce Quixote anyway? Just to be safe I'll continue to never say it out loud. Besides, it's not like I know anyone who's actually going to want to talk about Don Quixote. In other news, I'm getting together with my all-girls Latin book club tonight. The previous sentence was a joke, and might be funny depending on the number of things I know about Don Quixote that turn out to be correct.

* This is to prevent me from adding another Magnolia to my collection; I'm sure it's a brilliant film, Dr. Smarty Pants, but I'm not going to pretend I get it just to impress you. I will continue to use French superlatives I found on Google to impress you, however. There is a variation on the DVD rule: I can't buy movies I haven't seen since I was 13. That's to prevent me from buying another Commando. Over the Top is exempt from this last rule.