Acneboy
2003-09-09 10:24 p.m.
Pearl Harbor Vista Series (seriously!)

THE ROCK and BAD BOYS are the only Michael Bay movies worth watching. That said, I do own the 4-disc Vista Series edition of PEARL HARBOR. Love special editions. Gotta have them! If you haven't seen PEARL HARBOR, I'd describe it to you as a beautifully photographed (like all of Bay's films, I think), stupid, stupid, boring, jerkoff, asshole, and f*stfuck. There's about 40 minutes of action, too, that's worth your time if your home theater is equipped to make your neighbors call the cops on you. Of course, the focus of the film is the pivotal moment in history when Josh Hartnett had sex in a parachute, thus drawing America into the throes of WWII.

I just stepped away from the computer for a few hours and watched SAVING PRIVATE RYAN; that's sapped all the enthusiasm I had for telling you about the PEARL HARBOR DVD. Just go watch SAVING PRIVATE RYAN! In fact, I'm going to delete all of this. If you're reading this it's because I accidentally hit the "Submit Entry" button. If you're reading this it's because I accidentally hit the "Repeat dumb joke" button.

The DVD really is fantastic though! The special features are the kind you want to watch; production diaries that take you out to dinner and then behind the scenes of all the major action sequences where Michael Bay swears at the extras. Very indepth looks at how the digital effects were created. A documentary of the fake bootcamp for the actors is here too. Not as good as the BLACK HAWK DOWN Deluxe Edition bootcamp stuff, but better than the SAVING PRIVATE RYAN one that doesn't even exist (!). There's a lot more on these discs too. Own it maybe! Comes with postcards that look like propaganda posters. I got it for $20 at Walmart when they were trying to get rid of it like it was crap or something. $20 for crap? You must be kidding me! I'll take two! If you like special features aimed at film buffs this is for you!