Acneboy
2001-12-28 2:00 p.m.
Canned Milk Army versus The Spirit of Christmas
Man, I got a package from the UK in the mail, but all that's inside is a gift for Raevyn! Hmmm, I haven't really done a Christmas entry so I guess now is as good a time as any. Raevyn and I opened gifts at 12:30 AM on christmas morning. She got me the best gift any geek could ever ask for: loads of DVDs; and they were all movies I hadn't seen before, and probably wouldn't have chosen for myself, which is a good thing. I've found that whenever Raevyn suggests a movie to me I always end up liking it (with the exception of Flash Gordon, the worst combination of images ever to be shown in rapid succesion creating the illusion of motion.)

She got me The China Syndrome, which is a very well made film, but a bit too preachy, Working Girl which was great and featured some of the biggest 80's hair I've ever seen, as well as Sex Lies and Videotape, I'm looking forward to seeing this one since I'll get to see Laura San Giacomo's boobies.

She also got me Empire of the Sun, which is one of my favorite movies ever, and finally, she got me a movie that I've wanted to see for some time now, Hedwig and the Angry Inch, which I enjoyed thoroughly. Why do I like movies about gay people so much? I don't know! But this one had red sparkly lipstick! Oh! and she also got me something I've wanted since before she even knew me, a toy train set! I set it up around the tree, but it made this awful digital "choo choo chug chug woo woo" sound so I took care of that by opening it up and snipping the wires to the speaker. im such a dork! Can you believe the train actually makes smoke? it does!

Despite what some people may say, Christmas actually is about recieving. But it is atleast partially (I'd say %7 at best) about giving, so here's what I gave to Raevyn: The Die Hard Trilogy on DVD which is something she's been pining over since the dawn of time, and Moulin Rouge on DVD which I hope she wants to watch. It has a great box, that's for sure. And I got her a Hawaiian 12 days of christmas t-shirt (ask her what I'm talking about). To make up for my poor gift wrapping skills I plastered her gifts with cute puffy korean stickers. Take that to mean what you will.

My parents came over on Christmas day and prepared a fanciful feast of prime rib, duck in plum sauce (I've never had duck before! I feel uneasy about eating them for some reason...) and a great caesar salad. And they gave me money! yay! And they gave Raevyn a gift card that she can use to buy even more DVDs!

As dorky as my dad is not, he happens to be a fan of The Lord of the Rings books so we got him a coffee mug with Frodo on it. And we got my mom The Mummy Returns on DVD, she says she really likes this one. She must like Brendan Fraiser. I liked him best when he played a cave man. Uhh, not because I got to see his bare chest a lot! I talked to my brother on the phone and he apologized for not getting gifts for Raevyn and I, but fortunately Christmas actually is about giving so I was just happy to talk to him even though he's an ocean away. He and his girlfriend are doing well, which is great to hear. He agreed with me on just how rocking a movie Lord of the Rings is, and he's not even a dork like me so that really means something!

So in summary, we had a very, merry christmas, and we hope you did too!

I drew an invading army of condensed milk cans today.